Top Ten Tuesday – A Cheater’s Combination (October 8th)

Hey folks! Another Tuesday has arrived, and with it another The Broke and the Bookish Top Ten Tuesday meme post! However, I’d decided to stray from the offered topic and to COMBINE two from the old ones I’ve never done instead! As I’ve mentioned ENDLESS times before, I haven’t been reading many series lately and so I feel like this week’s topic of best/worst series endings isn’t very relevant for me. Instead, I’ve decided to go with

Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors + Top Ten Books For People Who Liked X Author 

And create the hybrid I’m now titling – Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors and Their Best Book I’ve Read

*best book shall be colored in a lovely blue

Let’s get to it!

  1. Douglas Adams – anyone who’s been following me for over a week will probably have noticed this man’s name come up… quite a bit. No need to elaborate – he’s mentioned all over my posts. The man is a genius. His writing is freaking fantastic. Books I’ve read: Hitchiker’s Guide Series (1-5), Dirk Gentley’s Hollistic Detective Agency, *Douglas Adam’s Starship Titanic – A Novel By Terry Jones – The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  2. Libba Bray – enjoyed Going Bovine, fell in love during Beauty Queens. Bought two more of her books when I was in the US in August, can’t wait to get to ’em. Books I’ve read: Going Bovine, Beauty Queens – Beauty Queens
  3. John Green – his books basically define my favorite genre. Sophisticated Young Adult, I like to call it. I have to admit, I’m kind of sick of the whole intellectual teen type thing, but he just does it so well. Books I’ve read: Will Grayson, Will Grayson, The Fault in Our Stars – TFiOS (although WGWG was wonderful, but I think it’s less… likeable by most, as opposed to TFiOS which was literally loved by every human who ever read it)
  4. Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket – read Series of Unfortunate Events in 3rd grade, rediscovered him as a young adult writer sometime last year. Another author where the writing matters more than the plot. Books I’ve read: Series of Unfortunate Events (1-12.5), Why We Broke Up, The Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming – Why We Broke Up
  5. JK Rowling  – got A Casual Vacancy the day after it came out – only b/c I assumed it wouldn’t come out in Israel the very same day it did in England. Gotta say it kinda threw me off JK – the writing was wonderful, the plot bore me to death. The week I finally gave up on it I read FIVE WHOLE OTHER BOOKS and rediscovered my Kindle and its wonders. Now I’m slightly more hesitant with her, not gonna lie. Books I’ve read: Harry Potter Series (1-7), 1/3 of A Casual Vacancy – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  6. Jodi Picoult – again, one I’ve cooled down with. I had a crazy Picoult stage after I read My Sister’s Keeper and then recognized her name on Plain Truth at the library I never visit and hate. After that I devoured her books, and I own nearly ten, I think, although I kind of took a break from her, she got sort of… repetative with her style and endings and I kind of lost interest – although that didn’t stop me from continuing to buy her work. Might return soon. Books I’ve read: My Sister’s Keeper, Plain Truth, Nineteen Minutes, The Pact, The Tenth Circle, House Rules – My Sister’s Keeper
  7. Daniel Levithan – insta-love after Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Books I’ve read – Will Grayson, Will Grayson, How We Met & Other Stories – Will Grayson, Will Grayson (I refuse to let John Green outshine him)
  8. Stephanie Perkins – I’ll admit, I’ve only read one of hers, but there was something really simple and easy to like about it. If I come across more, I’ll definitely check ’em out. Books I’ve read: Anna and the French Kiss – obvious.

Well, what did y’all think of my hybrid? Feel free to use it on your own blog, or create your own hybrids for those Tuesdays where the theme just doesn’t fit your needs! Share any of my choices? Have good ones of your own? Lemme know, and if some of mine were new go try them out – I gaurantee fantastic-ness for all of them!

Leave a comment