Internet and Real Life Collision

So, a while back – well, actually a few months ago – I wrote a post about Orson Scott Card and explained my refusal to buy products associated with him. To sum it up for those who have forgotten Card is on the board of directors of an organization who actively protests against the struggle for marriage equality in the United States. My refusal doesn’t stem from his opinion – to each his own. I’d just rather not have my money being put into this kind of activism. I do this because I support equality and I think it’s an important cause, whether you yourself are LGBT or not.  It’s better if you just go and check out the post yourself. It’s called Reading Is Not Just A Habit But A Way of Life or That Time I Told You Why I Don’t Buy Orson Scott Card Books (click the link).

I made a (personal) hard choice to boycott the film, and to only watch it when it’s available for download. I really want to see it on the big screen but buying a ticket means Card is making money off me – money that goes into these causes he supports. Yes, my few dollars will have no impact whatsoever on his fortune, however I know I’m not the only one making this choice, and ever since news of the film came out I’ve wondered if other organizations or famous people would come out with the same statement.

Just this Tuesday, during one of my aimless browsing through Yahoo News articles I came across one titled Who’s Gearing Up to Boycott Harrison Ford’s ‘Ender’s Game’ Film? I immediately remembered my own article and got really excited. It was heart-warming to know other people are calling out Card on his actions and are taking a stand against this sort of behavior.

This post isn’t really book related – I admit. I also stay relatively objective on this blog and read all kinds of books from different genres, including the LGBT one. However, there are some things I consider the building blocks of who I am as a person and my morals and principles are one of them. I decided to make this post because it’s interesting to see how what I write here as a free, opinionated person links back to reality.

I’m going to keep this short. I just wanted to share this with you guys because I found it very interesting, and also just plain nice. GeeksOUT – the organization calling to boycott Card – is organizing  a series of “Skip Ender’s Game” events in New York, Orlando, Seattle, and other major U.S. cities to coincide with the movie’s debut this November, so if anyone is interested go check it out.

I don’t expect everyone to be an activist. Some people are more lenient with these sort of things and more admant about others. That’s okay. It’s a personal choice – one that I’m making for MYSELF. I am not writing this post to call out those who WILL go and watch the film. America’s a free country… not that I’m IN America, but you get my point.

But for those of you who ARE boycotting – lemme know! Comment! You’re not alone!

Leave a Reply

