Top Ten Tuesday – I’m Choosing Something Else Because I’ve Already Done Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (July 9th)

Hello again! Since my Dirk Gentley review I haven’t posted much this week because since last Tuesday I’ve been hosting my two best friends who came to visit me together for the first time ever from New York! I am currently about halfway through Thomas Harris’s Red Dragon and it’s pretty great. It’s also interesting to see how it differs from the new NBC show Hannibal that I love so much.

I posted here on Friday lettin’ y’all know that this week’s Top Ten Tuesday subject happens to be the one I invented myself for the Freebie week back in May. I asked if you guys could suggest other topics from the list of previous ones which appears on the blog of the girls who host this meme over at The Broke and the Bookish. Sadly, I received no replies and so I guess I’ll just choose a topic myself. I think it could be fun to make you guys an active part of this blog and despite the failure of this first attempt I’ll be posting more things like that and hopefully the response grows over time.

Anyhow, for today’s Top Ten Tuesday post – in order not to bore you anymore since I do complain quite a it about the whole cinema-literature relationship – I’ll go back and complete a topic I’ve never done.

BREAKING NEWS: I’ve just gone over the old list and decided to come up with my own topic instead so now, without further ado, I present to you…

Top Ten Books Goodreads Recommends Based on My ‘Read’ Shelf (and What I Think About Them)

  1. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – very famous, been planning to read for a while. I hear it’s really great and I find the whole “what happens to humanity” subject very interesting. *adds to To Read List
  2. Shine by Lauren Myracle – I’ve recently discovered I like the whole tight-knit Southern community theme. And hate crimes. And the mix between these Southerners and “odd teens” that LEAD to hate crimes. You guys already know I’m weird. *adds to To Read List
  3. Saving Max by Antoinette van Heugten – Goodreads added this one to my recommendations because I’ve read House Rules by Jodi Picoult, and I’m glad it did because I like the mental illness/autism themes and the collision between them and reality, and of course  murder and jail themes too. *adds to To Read List
  4. The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett – I’ve been meaning to start Discworld since I was like eight and my dad introduced me to it. Maybe I’ll even get ’round to it this year. *adds to To Read List
  5. Not My Daughter by Barbara Delinsky – teen pregnancy – done. *adds to To Read List
  6. Daddy’s Little Angel by Shani Petroff – this is for ages 8+ AND it’s a four book series. Nah.
  7. Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler – politics, crime, political criticism. An allegory set in the USSr (not named). Takes place in a prison – YOU GOT ME THERE. *adds to To Read List
  8. Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks – first off, this is the first book OF NINE. Yeah right. I’m so not reading a nine book series now. Secondly, I do like science fiction, but pretty much only smart sci-fi, like speculation about the future of humanity, Matrix styled stuff, Ender’s Game sorts, etc. I have no patience for typical planet war battle type-books. And again, NINE. Nah.
  9. Čudnovate zgode šegrta Hlapića by Ivana Brlić-Mažuranić – um yeah. No thanks. Apparently this was recommended to me because I read The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole aged 13 3/4. I don’t even know. Nah.
  10. Look Again by Lisa Scottoline – a book about a woman who discovers that her adopted son looks suspiciously like a missing child. THIS SOUNDS AWESOME. *adds to To Read List

Well, there you have it. I highly doubt anyone has ever covered this topic so I hope this is interesting enough. Goodreads has some weird way of recommending. I think Amazon is MUCH slightly better in this field.

I’m extremely busy this summer but I’m going to try and keep up with posting, especially since this blog had a rough start but is now doing pretty okay. I’ll let you all know what I thought about Red Dragon once I finish it – only my second attempt at horror – the first one ended about 100 pages into Stephen King’s Cell out of sheer boredom.

What are some of the weirdest Goodread recs you’ve gotten? Any good ones?

It’s 12:05 AM. Who cares that I’m like seven hours ahead of half of you! I’M POSTIN’ THIS.

One response

  1. I like your list this week! I hope to read Brave New World soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

