Top Ten Tuesday – Most Intimidating Books

Today’s topic for the Top Ten Tuesday meme, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is –

Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (might be intimated by size, content, that everyone else loves it but you are sure you won’t etc)

This is a great topic! Lots of things intimidate me! Big books! Long series! Classics! Important stuff! Weehee!

  1. Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – I keep saying I’ll put off watching the TV show till after I read the books, ‘cept committing to Game of Thrones is basically signing a waiver to my reading freedom for the next fifty years, seeing as each book is about the size of the Bible. In short – it’s going to be quite  a while before I get ’round to watching the show. I guess that’s okay though, seeing as I have 40 years of Old Doctor Who to watch.
  2. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini– first off, the book is HUGE. Secondly, I don’t remember anything from the other books and I’m not about to reread all three now because THEY’RE ALSO HUGE. WHY CAN’T BOOKS BE SMALL AND CUTE.
  3. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein – it took me YEARS to get myself to read The Hobbit. I have a Classics Fear. It’s like – what if I read it and my life doesn’t change and I have no revelation or epiphany or magical moment? What if I DON’T EVEN LIKE IT? Same problem with cult films. I read a classic –> I don’t really like it –> I feel like a failure. This will probably be my excuse for half this list, apologizes in advance. Again, series fear. Haven’t read a series in over two years, I think.
  4. Books In Hebrew – as you may or may not know I am bilingual and live in Israel. My mom’s been trying to get me to read more Hebrew but the thing is I read slow in Hebrew. I read slow BECAUSE I never read Hebrew. Basically, it’s a never ending circle if you get my point.
  5. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – old English, Classics Fear.
  6. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Classics Fear.

You know what? This is pointless. Just write Popular Classic Books in Goodreads and you’ll get everything. Size is also a problem but lately I haven’t encountered TOO many huge books, not to mention the Kindle makes that aspect easier to handle. It’s always funny to remember in 3rd grade I read Harry Potter and A Series of Unfortunate Events which both have “fear traits” now – size and series. So yeah, my issue is mainly classics. The whole “everyone else loves it but you are sure you won’t” issue links directly to the classics problem. It’s actually one of the reasons I put off Douglas Adams for so long, which on one hand I’m sorry for doing but on the other I think I enjoyed it much more because I read it at a relatively later age.

So, you guys got a case of the “Classics Fear”? Any other fears?

WE CAN POWER THROUGH ‘EM TOGETHER. 

8 responses

  1. Hahaha, I can join you in the classics fear department 😉
    And the A Song of Ice and Fire books ARE huge but so worth it!! And then you can watch the TV series and drool over shirtless Gendry with the rest of us 😉
    Inheritance also made my list, I bought the hardcover when it came out, but it still sits on my shelf, staring me down…

    1. I’ll get there. 🙂 I’m working up my courage.
      As for Inheritance I DID THE EXACT SAME THING. Still waitin’, looking as me with those evil READ ME eyes.
      I’ve got a serious case of the Classics Fear.

  2. I have the exact same problem with the Game of Thrones series! I keep meaning to read the books before I watch the show but I always put it off.

    1. We’re all in this together!

  3. I am open to trying pretty much anything but the idea of reading Midnight’s Children scares me a lot… it’s not the longest book in the world but it is still supposed to be a “difficult” book to read. Also, I don’t think I will ever read The Lord of the Rings more because of the genre rather than because of the length.

    1. I’ve never heard of that one! And yeah, Lord of the Rings is Classic but also fantasy and most feel pressured to read it even though they hate the genre.

  4. Haha. So true. Always the classics 😉

    Here’s my Top 10

  5. I have the Classics Fear. I hope it’s curable 😉 I’m also too scared to read Game of Thrones and Lord Of The Rings!

Leave a Reply

