Top Ten Tuesday – Books Read So Far in 2013

EVERYTHING SEEMS TO BE WORKING SO GREAT WITH MY NEW READING-ALL-THE-TIME HABITS. (thank you Lord of All the Books On Planet Earth and Beyond and in the Internet too and The Broke and the Bookish).

Usually at this point in the year I’d be at 11 or 12 books but I’m now on my SIXTEENTH. This is a vast improvement guys, it really is. So now I can choose the best! Actually, I did read half of The Hobbit this year as well so really it’s more like I’m on my sixteenth and a half… so almost seventeen! (don’t worry if you had trouble following that math right now – I did too).

Top Ten Books Read So Far in 2013 

  1. Room by Emma Donoghue – this is probably one of the top ten books I’ve read period. This book is just WONDERFUL. Hauntingly wonderful.
  2. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – again, top ten favorite. Maybe even top five. Libba Bray is a genius and her books are both profound and profoundly hilarious.
  3. Q & A by Vikas Sawrup – I’m starting to realize quite a lot of the books I’ve read this year are close to being favorites for me. Anyway, great story told in an interesting manner.
  4. World Cup Wishes / Eshkol Navo (originally Hebrew משאלה אחת ימינה, אשכול נבו) – I think this is my only really favorite Hebrew book. I’m not sure it was translated but if it was GO READ IT THIS BOOK IS HEARTBREAKING AND BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN.
  5. 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff – just read it. Or read my review which really isn’t very good but I think you’ll get the point.
  6. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid – so I’m not going to say this is one of my favorite books but the way in which the story is told is something I’ve never seen done before and it makes up for any flaws you may find in the plot.
  7. Tessa Masterson Will Go to Prom by Emily Franklin & Brendan Halpin – lovely story, good writing, likeable characters, heartbreaking, makes up for all the crying in the end.

  8. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher – okay so to be honest I hated this book till about the last 40 pages and then it actually became likeable but I think the moral of this book is one that’s so important and needs to be said in about every form possible because it deals with such an important subject. And again, another interesting way to tell a story.
  9. What If / Yoav Avni (Original Hebrew הרצל אמר / יואב אבני) – the IDEA for this novel is ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. Parts of it were extremely boring but the ending more than makes up for it. I just sat there staring at the book. I had NO idea where Avni made that shit up from. Seriously. I WAS SO CONFUSED.
  10. Douglas Adams’s Starship Titanic by Terry Jones – okay, so definitely not the best book and some parts were downright boring but it had the wonderful humor and writing style I love so much about Adams so I’m including it in this list.

TELL ME ‘BOUT YO’ CHOICES, READERSIES.

4 responses

  1. I have the same views about 13 Reasons Why!
    My TTT

  2. I havent read any of these yet but I hear awesome things about Room from friends. Looking forward to reading it. Great list!

    1. Thanks! It’s an absolutely BEAUTIFUL book.

Leave a Reply

