Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Feature Travel in Some Way (June 4th)

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, is

Books That Feature Travel in Some Way

This is a tough one. Let’s see…

  1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This one is obvious. In fact, when I was in Amsterdam last summer I actually visited Van Houten’s house, the hotel the two were at, the Anne Frank musem (which we were going to visit anyway), and even the restaurant that served as inspiration for the one Hazel and Gus go to. The host there even said there were quite a few others who had come because of the book.
  2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Again, obvious. It’s about an exchange student, come on.
  3. What If (הרצל אמר) by Yoav Avni. This one is actually in Hebrew and I have no idea whether or not it was translated but you can read my written-in-English review about it here. It’s basically a story about two Israelis who go on a trip to Palestine in an alternate universe where Israel is actually in Uganda, in Africa (which relates to an actual idea that was brought up by the Zionist Congress in the early 20th century).
  4. Going Bovine by Libba Bray. It’s a book about a dkid who has the “human” version of mad cow disease. An angel shows up in his hospital room and tells him there’s a cure and that she can guide him if he chooses to go looking for it. The search turns into a crazy travel story around America where he runs into cults, parties, talking gnomes and so many crazy things. Libba Bray The Genius + surreal dark comedy genre = brilliance. That’s an actual math equation. I swear.
  5. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. This one’s a bit of a cheat, although I guess time travel is just as good as… land travel? This book is one of my favorites in general.
  6. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. How could I forget this?! The perfect example of a gold search, forest adventure, dragon battle travel novel.
  7. Peter Pan by JM Barrie. This one counts, right? They do… travel. Via flight. In the sky. And then they do lots of stuff in a foreign place, so I’m counting this one.
  8. Q & A by Vikas Swarup. Okay, so this isn’t exactly travel either but it does tell a life story that involves lots of moving about and yes, some traveling.
  9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. This is the most “travelsy” book (that’s now a word. deal with it.) in this series. They go camping, beat people up and complete their neverending trasure hunt! And then we also time travel a billion years ahead to when they’re old and have kids. So this is double-type travel!
  10. Skins: The Novel by Ali Cronin. Since I’ve already cheated the shit out of this entire assignment, we’re going to pretend that Effy’s chapters in Italy count as travel. Even though they pretty much just have to do with her wanting to sleep with her mom’s boyfriend. This show… just. Yeah. I don’t even know anymore.

My choices keep getting worse with every theme. Oh well. Disclaimer – these posts are many times less of a “Top Ten as in Favorites” and more of a “Top Ten as in Ten Titles I Thought of First.” They’re all good books though, so it’s okay.

I personally don’t like travel books all that much, how about you?

Which ones would you recommend?

7 responses

  1. I totally agree with you on Anna and the French Kiss and saw that on several lists.
    And ohhh, I can not believe that I’ve never thought of The Fault in Our Stars!
    Great list! (:

    My TTT

    1. I think EVERYONE put Anna on their list. 🙂
      You’ve got a good one too!

  2. Great list- I have some of the same on my list
    Kerri
    http://turnthepagereviews.com

    1. We have 1/5 of our lists the same! Time Traveler’s Wife and The Hobbit. Apparently a bunch put Niffinegger on their list. Great book.

  3. Time Travel totally counts! I’m glad to see another fan of The Time Traveler’s Wife.

    1. Fantastic book, not very good movie. I quit the film after 15 minutes.

  4. Peter Pan is definitely a good choice- it counts!

Leave a Reply

