Top Ten Tuesday – Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (May 14th)

So last week there was Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light & Fun which was hard for me, considering my choices for two weeks ago’s Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book. Well, this week should be much easier because of those choices, which were mostly dark and creepy..!

Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish)

*it is 1:54am YES I CHEATED BY A BIT BECAUSE IT’S WEDNESDAY OH WELL so I am not going to proceed with my usual “let me add a damn photo” battle against WordPress which takes place every Tuesday. I might add in photos tomorrow.

  1. 13 Reasons Why / Jay Asher – high school suicide, bullying, death.
  2. Flowers for Algernon / Daniel Keyes – a man with an IQ of 68 who undergoes experimental surgery that over time makes him brilliant, but his emotional abilities stay underdeveloped and he ends up suffering, and eventually the effects of the surgery begin to show signs of failure and he slowly loses his newfound abilities to read, write, etc. One of my favorites.
  3. The Pact / Jodi Picoult – a suicide pact between two childhood friends (now teens) goes wrong and one is accused in the murder of the other.
  4. November Blues / Sharon M. Draper – two months after November’s boyfriend dies in a hazing accident she discovers she’s pregnant.
  5. The Miseducation of Cameron Post / Emily M. Danforth – Cameron is 12 years old when she starts realizing she might be gay. Her parents die in a car accident and she is sent to live with her extremely conservative aunt, who discovers Cameron’s secret and sends her to a “de-gaying” camp.
  6. Unbearable Lightness / Portia DeRossi – a book Portia DeRossi wrote about her struggles with an eating disorder that nearly kill her and with being a gay woman in the entertainment business, where such secrets could destroy a career.
  7. Mysterious Skin / Scott Heim – story about two children who are sexually abused by their baseball coach. the story takes place when they’re already high school students and how this history affects their adult lives.
  8. Rent / Jonathan Larson – kind of cheating here because I’ve seen the film, but I do own the play in book form! Rent basically covers everything – death, poverty, homosexuality, aids, friendship… and all of it in song form!
  9. The Catcher in the Rye / JD Salinger – so I don’t know if this counts exactly, but the feeling I get when thinking of this book is… depression. The whole book has this air of despair (RHYME WAT.) So yeah, I’m including it here.
  10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower / Stephen Chbosky – here for the same reason as Salinger. It’s depressing. Wonderful, beautiful, magical. But yes, not exactly light and fun.

What books did you choose for this topic? Lemme know! I love this theme!

3 responses

  1. comehometobooks | Reply

    I’ve only read a few of these, but they’re good ones (except CATCHER IN THE RYE — I kind of hate that one). I’ll have to look into some of your other ones. Thanks for the recs!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  2. Super choices! Several are books not seen on other people’s lists! I really like this. 🙂

    I have my Top Ten up on SnifferWalk Books, my blog. Come on by!

  3. I’ve read a few of these books and heard good things about some of the others! Fab list.

Leave a Reply

