Top Ten Tuesday – When You Need Something Light & Fun (May 7th)

I’mma begin this Top Ten Tuesday entry (brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish) by pointing out that I am not really one to go for the “light and fun” books, as you can see by my last Top Ten Tuesday about topics make me pick up a book which… let’s just say weren’t exactly the lightest or fun… at all. In fact, most of them dealt with prison, law, death and other issues. BUT I AM A HAPPY PERSON, I SWEAR. Despite my obsession with dark stuff and gore and all that is creepy, I spend most of my time making jokes and listening to party music alone on my computer while I do homework. So, let’s do this! (and yes, I’ll be “borrowing” from other people this round as well because… well. BECAUSE I WANT TO.)

* I’m actually listening to Eleanor Rigby while making this list. Way to go, Hadas. Setting the happiness mood.

Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light & Fun

  1. Anna and the French Kiss / Stephanie Perkins – great book, great writing, great story. Lots of love and cliches and heartbreak and heart-put-back-together-again. Oh, and French-y stuff! Yay!
  2. m or f? / Lisa Papademetriou and Chris Tebbetts – the book itself does cover some tough issuues such as the hardships of being gay and closeted, but the plot is a very… original idea and it does turn out quite funny in the end. Plus, the book is not even 300 pages.
  3. The Hobbit / JR Tolkein – okay, so yeah I know this isn’t exactly light or fun but I’m putting it here because it’s relatively short and it’s a typical adventure story so it’s perfect for anyone who’s just looking for the whole “go on a trip escape monsters meet dragon look for gold” type thing.
  4. The Con / Karri Justina Shea – girl goes to convention, meets famous wizard wrocker, love and other mushy stuff. Basically, every fangirl’s dream all crammed into less than 150 pages and lots of lovely fandom references.
  5. The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole aged 13 ¾ / Sue Townsend – this book is absolutely wonderful. Adrian Mole’s letters, which are meant of course to be serious and show the young man’s hardships in life, are just hilarious. His thoughts about life and the meaning of it all will bring a smile to any reader’s face. I loved this book.
  6. The Toilet of Doom / Michael Lawrence – I remember liking this but I have no idea what it’s about so here’s a blurb “When these tempting words appear on the computer screen, Jiggy McCue can’t resist. He hits “F for Flush” and…Oh dear. He really shouldn’t have done that. Because the life he gets in place of his own is a very embarrassing one–for a boy.”
  7. How I Created My Perfect Prom Date / Todd Strasser – again, don’t remember a thing. But I mean, popular girls, prom, dates, high school, boys and a HOT PINK cover? It’s probably something fun. Just picked it up from my desk. Yep folks, it’s light.
  8. The Tales of Beedle the Bard / JK Rowling – good for any Potter fan, full of short stories. All of them probably have some deep life meaning but I’m still gonna include it in this list.
  9. Roald Dahl stuff – brilliant man, great stories. All short, all with a point, all well written.
  10. Jaqueline Wilson stuff – colorful books, great characters, awesome ideas and plots.

Got kinda impatient near the end there. Sorry, people. I have an almost week long vacation coming up next week and I’ll try to get down a review for m or f? and 13 Reasons Why during that time.

Have a good rest of the week! Read books! Write reviews! Or not! Make lists! Share them with me!

7 responses

  1. This was a difficult week for me too. I had to go a bit outside the parameters of the challenge and list books that I think are fun to read, not necessarily “fun” book, KWIM?

    Check out my list! –> TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  2. I love Stephanie Perkins and Roald Dahl! I really want to read The Hobbit, so hopefully I can get to that this summer! Great list 🙂

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  3. Lots of Anna love today, and it’s totally deserving! Have a great vacation 🙂

    1. Thank you very much! And yes, Perkins is definitely appearing quite a lot! 🙂

  4. I love Roald Dahl. He was so awesome. And Stephanie Perkins is perfection. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  5. Yes to Roald Dahl! I really need to read the stuff he wrote for adults though! I purchased a collection forever ago and just haven’t gotten around to it. I wonder if those are as light and fun as the children’s books?

    1. I’ve read most of his children’s books and Boy. I have yet to read Completely Unexpected Tales.

Leave a Reply

