Top Ten Tuesday – Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book (April 30th)

Another week, another Tuesday, another Top Ten Tuesday post from The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is  Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book. I just read a few other entries for this topic and one blogger mentioned that many times they pick up a book because they think it’s about something they like but then they read the back, discover it’s not what they expected, and put it back. This happens to me a lot with books, so this list isn’t going to be very exact and I hope you’ll forgive me for that. Also, this will be including authors… many of them. Oh and look at my coloring!  I’ve included examples of titles for each topic underneath it.

*the photos included are photos of books I’ve read and books I want to read.

*I’ve put one photo for each topic but I’ve included more examples under each choice itself.

  1. Douglas Adams – no explanation needed. His writing, his story, his idea, his editing. Whatever. It’s mine. (The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series, Douglas Adams’s A Starship Titanic by Terry Jones)
  2. Libba Bray – same thing. She’s hilarious and brilliant and on my shelf of “Brains of People I Want to Keep in a Glass Case in my Room Forever” she has a spot reserved right beside dear Douglas here, between him and #3. (Going Bovine, Beauty Queens, the Gemma Doyle Trilogy)
  3. Daniel Handler – aka Lemony Snicket. The guy’s a genius. His humour is smart, just how I like it. His ideas are odd in the most wonderful way. I’ve heard his commentary on the Series of Unfortunate Events film is funny as hell. (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Why We Broke Up, Watch Your Mouth)
  4. John Green – I really love Young Adult books and I really love good writing. Isn’t it wonderful that John Green writes well written Young Adult books?! (The Fault in Our Stars, Will Grayson Will Grayson, An Abundance of Katherines)
  5. Mental Disorders – for some reason I find books with this theme fascinating. (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon, Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Kayes, House Rules by Jodi Picoult)
  6. JK Rowling -This woman wrote my childhood. I bought The Casual Vacancy without even reading the blurb. I actually finally started reading it today, after putting it off for so long. (Harry Potter Series, A Casual Vacancy)
  7. Court & Law – this is one of the things I really love about Picoult’s books. I am considering studying law and I am a fan of all things law related – TV, film, books, etc. (My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Conelly, Ninteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult)
  8. School – I love Young Adult and I especially love books about teenagers in school. This theme incorporates the whole “boarding school” topic as well. I like interaction and I like teens and I like uniforms and order and teachers and class discussions and social dynamics of people so… yeah. This topic pretty much sums up all of that into one. (Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard)
  9. Prison – if it includes prison scenes, I’ll take it. Especially if the prison is the main setting and if the experience of being a prisoner is a main aspect in the book. (The Pact by Jodi Picoult, Conviction by Richard North Patterson. Help me find more, folks!)
  10. Horrible Experiences – this sort of sounds crazy, but I’ve always been fascinated by… awful things. Always as in since I was a kid. Rape, kidnapping, school shooting, teen murderers, runaways, homophobia as a teen, racism as a teen, bullying, hate crimes, gay therapy institutions, physiciatric hospitals (I forgot the term just now and googled “crazy people house”), torture, army life, anorexia, teen pregnancy, homeless youth, amputees. (Izzy Willy Nilly by Cynthia Voigt, Push by Sapphire, Room by Emma Donoghue) 

Okay, I stole from others because I was out of ideas. I mean, I love Young Adult, as I’ve said, but I think that’s too general so I just found other themes I like from other posts and put them here. DEAL WITH IT. The stolen and revised ones are 5-8.

What topics attract YOUR eye? What words make you grab a book?

3 responses

  1. I love Libba Bray. Her brain is awesome! Yay for JK Rowling and books set at school, as well. Great list!
    Here’s my TTT

  2. Oooh books that take place at school! Yes, I like that one, too. It’s not on my list, but yeah that’s definitely an interest-piquing read for me as well.

    Love the list! Here’s mine:
    http://anannysliterarymusings.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/top-ten-tuesday-teaser-tuesday-2/

  3. […] that I am not really one to go for the “light and fun” books, as you can see by my last Top Ten Tuesday about topics make me pick up a book which… let’s just say weren’t exactly the lightest or fun… at all. In fact, […]

Leave a Reply

