Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did (April 23rd)

The topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish, is…

Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did!

I have actually never really thought about this, but this is definitely an interesting idea. It might end up including books I didn’t actually finish reading because those are the really disappointing ones. I’ll have you know I can count on my fingers the number of books I’ve quit in the middle, so really, if YOU SIR BOOK were one of ’em, you musta been real bad. Some of these are just favorites I didn’t expect to become favorites.

The RED are the ones I enjoyed MORE. The BLUE are the ones I enjoyed LESS.

  1. Cell / Stephen King – I started reading this for 2012’s Ecelctic Reader’s Challenge. It was my first King book AND my first horror novel (actually any horror “media” or text whatsoever) and I was really excited! I never got into it though, and I ended up dropping it about one hundred pages into the story which was a disappointment because it was a double failure – horror + King. It just wasn’t… suspenseful enough. I didn’t really like it. I’m redoing 2012 so I will have to choose a new horror book this year. We’ll see!
  2. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo / Steig Larson – Yet another book I quit about a third through. I felt like it wasn’t getting anywhere, which was pretty annoying considering I reached the 200th page. I had a hard time keeping track of all the family ties and ended up just quitting the entire thing altogether.
  3. Anna and the French Kiss / Stephanie Perkins – I bought this book by accident. I was visiting NY and I confused its cover for something else and only when I returned to Israel did I realize my mistake. I was really upset but there was nothing else to do but read the “accidental”book instead. Boy, am I glad I did that! This book was wonderful! It’s sort of a cheesy love story, which I usually dislike, but I found the characters so loveable and the story and writing were fantastic! I also dragged this book on forever because I didn’t feel like reading it but at some point I became upset it had taken me so long because I was suddenly enjoying it and the long time had sort of spoiled it for me. GO READ IT.
  4. The Neverending Story / Michael Ende  I wasn’t expecting much from this book because as a child I hated the film. I really did feel like it NEVER ENDED and after seeing the movie once I refused to watch it ever again. Surprisingly, the novel was actually very good! DON’T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS MOVIE, KIDS.
  5. The Hobbit / JRR Tolkein – I actually planned on reading the entire LotR series BEFORE the film came out but I kept putting it off and so I only started The Hobbit in December. I had been warned countless times before about the tedious English and the never-ending nature descriptions in Tolkein’s books so it was very great to discover that those had been extreme exaggerations. I’m also always hesitant about reading books considered to be “classics” because I feel… pressured to like them. As if people who dislike these so called REVOLUTIONARY, LIFE CHANGING books are either stupid or missing something.
  6. The Time Traveler’s Wife / Audrey Niffenegger – Long story short, this is a favorite I wasn’t expecting much from. I was told what happens in the end and in general, it didn’t look like one of those books I was going to fall in love with… BUT I DID.
  7. Someone Like You / Sarah Dessen – Two years ago, while visiting friends in New York, my best friend let me take to Israel about four or five Sarah Dessen novels. I read Dreamland (I think) and I don’t remember it at all. It wasn’t especially good but it wasn’t bad either. However, the main thing I remember from Someone Like You is HATING the book. It wasn’t especially well written, the characters were annoying, the plot wasn’t intriguing. I hadn’t begun it expecting GREATNESS, but I was also not expecting… ugh.
  8. Ella Enchanted / Gail Carson Levine – This was one of my TOP FAVORITE films as a child. My sister, my friend and I were OBSESSED with Don’t Go Breaking My Heart and I adored Anne Hathaway. I read this book in Hebrew for a book report in eight grade, I think, and HATED it. I did think it was interesting that the book differed from the movie by much, but it really reminded me of Cinderella which I wasn’t sure I liked. I think my hate pretty much boils down to an awful translation, but I don’t think I’ll ever recover from how awful it was.
  9. The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole , Aged 13¾ / Sue Townsend – I read this book as a quick, last minute, night before a Book Report Test choice. It turned out to be very, very good. I actually didn’t have much expectations at all so this was very nice.
  10. The Golden Compass / Philip Pullman – Even though I don’t recall really enjoying the film, I did start this book expecting a very good read. This book is considered very popular because of its excellence, and yet I couldn’t drag myself to the last page. I quit this book mid-read. The book is considered outstanding and was a great success, so I wasn’t expecting to dislike it that much, enough to make me quit it – which is a rare occurance, like I said before.

Well, this TTT was MUCH harder than the past ones. I actually had a hard time finding enough books to reach a full ten. I don’t always have expectations, and I also have a hard time HATING anything in general so my dislike it hard to pinpoint. But, in the end, I managed to divide it equally between the MOREs and the LESSes!

I’mma take this opportunity to letch’yall know I’ve FINALLY finished my book and will be uploading a review soon. I’ve also started 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff which is turning out to be absolutely wonderful and hopefully will have a review up very soon, seeing as it’s such a short book!

So, what books disappointed YOU? Which ones turned out to be a pleasant surprise?

3 responses

  1. Ooh that’s interesting. I ashamedly didn’t know The Never-Ending Story was a book. I must check it out. Great list.

  2. Love Anna and the French Kiss and the Hobbit. It’s funny, I loved the movie The Never Ending Story when I was a kid, but have never read the book.

    1. It’s never too late! 🙂

Leave a Reply

