April 16: Top Ten Tuesday REWIND – Childhood Favorites (April 16th)

I’m so glad we get to revisit old topics! I discovered this meme (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) only recently and going over the old topics I was so disappointed I’d missed all of these lovely ideas. Luckily, this day came around and I can go back and choose one!

I don’t exactly know how you’d define “childhood.” Is that elementary school? Early ages or the later ones? Also, how on EARTH am I supposed to choose JUST TEN? Ugh. I hate choosing… I sort of have a love-hate relationship with this meme.

Let’s begin!

*Baby-Sitters Club #1 represents entire series, Dealing with Dragons represents entire series, A Bad Beginning represents entire series

  1. Sideways Stories From Wayside School / Lous Sachar – No childhood is complete without dear Mr. Sachar. I had this book as an audio book and my family would hear it in the car nonstop. This book is silly and genius at the same time – unexpected, thought provoking and just plain hilarious!
  2. The Babysitters Club / Ann M. Martin – Yeah, I know. This isn’t one book, more like one hundred thousand, but I’m gonna count it as one unit. I discovered these thanks to my grandparents when I came to visit them in Israel (back when I lived in New York) and couldn’t find anything I liked in their house. It was love at first sight and I immediately decided I’d find them all and read them from the first all the way to the last IN ORDER. I reached the eighth when I happened to come across #108… yeah, you can guess how that mission ended.
  3. My Father’s Dragon / Ruth Stiles Gannett – This one is a major Top Ten Favorite. The book is about a boy who sets out on a journey to rescue an enslaved dragon. He thinks up all kinds of different ways to fool and to deceive the various animals he meets into letting him continue on his path in search of the poor little dragon.
  4. Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret / Judy Blume – I’d love to meet an English speaking girl who hasn’t come across at least one Judy Blume book in her life. I read this book in elementary school and really enjoyed it, which lead me to reading it a couple more times later on.
  5. The Westing Game / Ellen Raskin – I’ve already mentioned this book in a different TTT. I read this book in 3rd grade after having it recommended to me by my best friend. As I mentioned in said TTT post, I simply cannot remember the end, despite reading it more than twice, and that makes this book so much more enjoyable, not to mention great for rereading!
  6. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phenoix – Yet another book from the last TTT. What can I say? I had great taste as a child! Funny thing is, I disliked many of them as stand-alone books but was a major fan of the entire series from Day 1. My mom used to get angry at me for taking two Potter books to school, even when I explained that I was nearing one’s end and simply had to take the next along as well, and thankfully my frail nine year old back never let me down!
  7. A Wrinkle In Time / Madeleine L’Engle – This isn’t so much of a favorite, I guess, but it is tied to a very prominent memory from my childhood. One time, on the morning of a 3rd grade school trip to some theatre, the teacher let me run to the library and get a book before we left the school. I must have spent a bit longer there than she’d planned because when I returned to class I found it deserted. Needless to say, I became very worried and started running around the school trying to find someone I recognized. I showed up crying at the secretary’s office and they quickly found someone to take me via taxi to the theatre. Just my luck, they managed to find the one most HATED teacher in the entire school (think Mr. Ratburn style, except she was called Mrs. Jeneranoff – I have NO IDEA how to spell that – and she spent every lunch period yelling at us to stop talking.) When I showed up, my teacher apologized profusely of course , and then proceeded to call my mom and apologize a million times more. The who ordeal ended on a positive note because I spent the entire play sitting next to my teacher and talking about how boring and stupid the play was.
  8. The Enchanted Forest Chronicles / Patricia C. WredeAgain, this a four-part series but I’m going to ignore that. So, I’ve just discovered that this is in fact a YOUNG ADULT series. No one told 3rd (maybe 4th?) grade me that! Anyway, this series follows the travels of Princess Cimorene, who gets fed up with being a princess and all of the boring and limiting chores such a job demands, and runs away from home to go work for a dragon. It’s refreshing to see a kid’s book in which the princess is… “un-princess like.” A wonderful sentence from the blurb that perfectly sums up my point is “Cimorene is everything a princess is not supposed to be: headstrong, tomboyish, smart…”
  9. A Series of Unfortunate Events / Lemony Snicket – Rules are REALLY not my thing. I REFUSE TO BE FORCED TO CHOOSE. Read these in 3rd grade along with my best friend. Finished all twelve, waited ages for the thirteenth. It came out, ordered it online, began book, took it when I moved to Israel and… never finished. Dunno why. I plan on going back and rereading one day…
  10. The Doll People / Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin – SHE WROTE THE BABYSITTER’S CLUB TOO. OHMYGOSH CHILDHOOD LOVE MOMENT. Just got reminded by this book thanks to Jamie who chose some other book about talking dolls. Memory time! I was an impatient child and I tended to flip through books sometimes, just for the heck of it. This book has a few illustrations and it OF COURSE it was bound to happen that I’d randomly open to the one page that ruined the entire plot. Oh well… *runs off to find a copy of this to purchase online because this book is fabulous*

So, those are my choices, folks! If you ask me next week my answers might be completely different, but for now I am very pleased with them, and with this post in general. It includes quite a few special book-related childhood memories that I will remember for many years to come. In fact, I just might write up a post sometime about the strong link I have between books and life memories…

So, tell me about YOUR favorites! What kind of reader was your younger self? Has your book taste changed or has it stayed pretty much the same over the years?

2 responses

  1. I’m so sad to say that I wasn’t really a reader when I was young. I’m making up for lost time now that’s for sure!

    1. READ ALL OF THE CHILDREN’S BOOKS ALWAYS.
      No, really though, it’s never too late! I’ve reread some of these later on in life and they were still very good. And anyway, who gets to tell you what book is for your age and what isn’t?
      Thanks for commenting, check out some of these books! Enjoyment guaranteed. And if you usually don’t like “children’s books” then the ones on this list that are more “grown up”/really are good for later ages as well are 1,5,6,7,9.
      – Hadas

Leave a Reply

