Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger (April 9th)

I’m new to the whole book-blogging thang, but apparently bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish started this meme a while back, where every week they give a topic for Top Ten Tuesday and us book bloggers – old and new alike – post our own answers for said topic. I have actually only just begun blogging so really this isn’t all that hard. Then again, I have a hard time choosing favorites in any topic so really who knows because once I start uploading more reviews my standards will eventually change and adjust… but yeah, here you go folks!

pheonix200px-TimeTravellersWife

*last two book photos – 1st English Version, 2nd Hebrew Verson

1. Perks of Being A Wallflower/Stephen Chbosky. I started logging my reading ’round October of 2011 and so this is the first one I have on record! Took me three days, loved every second. In fact, following my trend of making up crazy private rituals, I actually placed the book under my pillow when I finished it and when I woke up I had a cold thus leading me to the wise conclusion that maybe sleeping on books isn’t the brightest idea.

2. Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix / JK Rowling. Honestly, didja guys really think dear Harry wouldn’t make it to the list? I read Harry Potter sometime in 3rd grade, ’round January of 2006 if I’m not mistaken. Love at first sight, obviously. My friend and I hadn’t been aware of fandoms back then but we basically had our own two-person fandom. I even have drawings and poetry left from those days in some folder lying around. ‘Course I also have a letter addressed to Rowling and another to Potter, if I’m not mistaken. Reason why I love the book? Lots of blood and death. I was a creepy eight year old, guys.

3. The Time Traveler’s Wife / Audrey Niffenegger. Read this one in February of ’12. In an accidental move-vs.-book conversation someone ruined the end for me but it honestly did not matter or affect my love for this book at all. Once completed, I downloaded the movie with high hopes. I barely lasted 15 minutes before I deleted the entire file. Moral of the story? Don’t judge a book by its movie.

4. Beauty Queens / Libba Bray. This is actually a recent read, around the end of March. I do plan on uploading a review but this book is worthy of a well written one, after some practice. This book manages to address pretty much every aspect of society and does it in a funny, witty, intelligent manner. I have a special case saved for dear Bray’s brain on my shelf, right beside dear Douglas Adams’, which leads me to my next choice.

5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy / Douglas Adams. Words cannot describe the pure geniosity (noun, from GENIUS; lovely word invented by my even lovelier friend) of this book, and of Adams in general, and mind you I’m bilingual. I love this entire series but I’ll go with the first for this list because really, every series has a beginning. One day, when I figure out how to write a review that will do this work of art justice, I’ll let ya’ll know.

7. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time / Mark Haddon. This one I read in 4th grade, I think. Why was I reading this book at age 9, you ask? Good question – the teacher asked it too. The best answer would probably be that I was nine, I was a reader, and this was a book. So at some point it happened to fall onto my lap and got read. Lovely book. Later found out it was produced as a play (or musical?) in London and I cried and cursed the ocean for flooding the path to happiness.

8. The Westing Game / Ellen Raskin. Read this in 3rd grade, and then again a few years later. It’s a great mystery novel and the funny thing is I can’t remember the end. I mean, I know what happens but it’s like I never really understood and so it just never… sunk in. I find that pretty funny.

9. My Sister’s Keeper / Jodi Picoult. This actually wasn’t the first Picoult book I read but if I remember correctly it was when I read this that that corner in my heart for Picoult was formed. I read this in 7th grade, I think, and since then I’ve read another five or six books of hers and own at least three more.

10. World Cup Wishes / Eshkol Navo (originally Hebrew משאלה אחת ימינה, אשכול נבו). I actually don’t know if this book was translated, so I apologize if this is kind of like “wasting space”, but this is one of my favorite books. I read this book in the very beginning of 2013, January I think. I don’t read much in Hebrew so finishing this book in about three days was kind of amazing. This book is a MUST to all Hebrew speakers. It’s a friendship story about four guys, written from the POV of one of them. Most friendships books are written by girls, at least that’s the case from my experience, and so this was refreshing and done brilliantly. One of my favorite parts is when the protagonist says that “there are some friends you trust enough to do rock-paper-scissors with on the phone.”

Well, I obviously had at least ten other books to include on this list and if you ask me next week I might have completely different answers, but I wanted to include a wide range of books from all kinds of genres and from “different reading ages.” I feel like I have to point out that Ender’s Game / Orson Scott Card deserves to be here as well, but a post regarding that book and Card in general will probably be written in the future, including my opinions about Card, his actions, and why I refuse to buy his books.

I’m cutting it close since it’s quite late here now, so I’m going to post, shower, sleep. Let me know what your favorites are! If you have a blog as well, comment with a link!

G’night!

8 responses

  1. Playing Jokers | Reply

    Yay for beginning to blog! I’m new too so it was definitely easier coming up with my list than it might have been otherwise. I never got around to reading the Curious Incident. I think I had that sitting on my bookshelf for entirely too long before I just ended up selling it to a used book store.

    1. Hey, you’re new to this too! I see you’ve chosen The Book Theif- it’s on my neverending list.
      Advice for a new reviewer? I’ve done one so far.
      How’d you find me, may I ask?

      -Hadas

  2. Welcome to book blogging! Have fun! I recently read The Westing Game for the first time ever-what a great read. I wish I had a Libba Bray shelf. I do have a signed copy of The Diviners…

    1. I first met Bray and her brilliance through Going Bovine. Her books are hard to find here, so unfortunately I’ve read only two.

  3. Welcome to the blogging world! I love this meme as it makes my TBR list longer and longer. 🙂 Also I loved The Westing Game, totally forgot about that book! Great list.

    My Top Ten

  4. Congrats on entering the blogging world 🙂 I love Perks, but couldn’t include it on my list since I read it after I started my site. I like the HP pick, too; it’s so different to pull something from the middle of the series like that (I had Deathly Hollows on my list – but Azkaban is a close second).

    Have fun with your reviews!

    1. It’s actually kind of funny because while reading them I disliked most of the books as stand-alone novels, but was obsessed with the series as a whole!

  5. […] mentioned in my Top Ten Tuesday post that I refuse to buy Orson Scott Card books, despite the fact that Ender’s Game is one […]

Leave a Reply

